top of page
  • Gawain

Studio Lighting

Lighting is one of the most important things when it comes to photography. the direction of light causes different effects on the image based on where the source is coming from. In portraiture we tend to have the light on the left of the person causing a one side of the subject face to be shadowed. (Oil Hunter, Steven River, Paul Fuqua, 2007, p186) Photographers tend to prefer to put the light on the subjects more dominant eye, which normally tends to be the left eye, however some people have very semitropical faces leaving it up to the photographer on which side the light should be on.(Oil Hunter, Steven River, Paul Fuqua, 2007, p191) In the image below you can see the photographer has used the light on the more dominant side of the subjects face, creating a shadow on her left hand side.

In my project I will be using a lot of portraiture, however I will also trying to capture more raw images than studio shot images. Due to this a lot of my images won’t be a pristine as studio shot images, however I will still have to take lighting into consideration and make sure there is enough light in each of my images.

Image result for portrait photography




Oil Hunter, Steven River, Paul Fuqua, 2007, Light Science & magic. Third Edition. Oxford: George Morrison

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Photography

This year my brief for photography is subject on hope and fear. I found this to be an interesting brief as this can be interpreted in many ways. I had a few ideas on what I wanted to do as my brief, o

bottom of page